Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

UNIOSUN Medical Students Conduct Maiden Election

On Friday the 5th of March 2021, Medical Students of Osun State University conducted the maiden election of their newly formed association, the Osun State University Medical Students’ Association (OSUMSA). The election, which was initially scheduled to hold in March 2020, had to be put on hold indefinitely due to the outbreak of the Coronavirus pandemic that necessitated the closure of schools across the country last year. However, after securing necessary approvals for the conduct of the election after school reopened, the electoral committee announced a continuation of the suspended process.

The virtual election which started at about 3 pm on Friday witnessed a huge turnout of voters. The election though virtual required the physical presence of voters at the polling station to cast their votes. Accredited voters were presented with unique voting codes with which they cast their votes on the voting platform. The electoral committee provided laptop computers with which voters cast their votes.

According to results released by the electoral committee, AbdulRahman Oyebamiji won the Presidential seat of the association by polling 80.7% of total valid votes cast to defeat his rival who came a distant second by polling 19.3% of total valid votes. Emmanuel Akinola narrowly clinched the Vice Presidency by securing 51.8% of total votes cast to defeat his Challenger – Sakinah Oyedeji-Jamiu who secured 48.2% of valid votes. Emmanuel Motadegbe polled 59.8% to beat Emmanuel Oyaniyi to become the Assistant General Secretary. Yeshua Aina polled 58% of votes against 42% of Bukolami Omilani to bẹ declared winner for the post of Social Director. Ayodele Adeniregun scored 55.4% of votes to emerge Sports Director against Hassan Alimi who polled 44.6%. Sharon Adeosun lost the post of Welfare Director to David Alarape who polled a total of 60.2% of votes.

AbdulRahman Abideen, Temitope Oyaromade, Taiwo Fatola, Omolola Gbadegesin, Adeola Adejumo, AbdulMojeed Oladipupo were however returned elected unopposed for the posts of Financial Secretary, Academic Director, General Secretary, Public Relations Officer 1, Public Relations Officer 2, and Treasurer respectively having scored at least 50% of total valid votes cast.

In an interview with the President-elect, AbdulRahman Oyebamiji, he expressed his excitement about the entire process of the election. He also commended members of the electoral committee for the conduct of the election that was acceptable to all. On what he expects from members other elected members, he said: ‘l expect something good from them, they are good people. I believe they will be ready to impress the members of the association and the public.”

The chairman of the electoral committee, Praise Olawoyin, in his interview with this Reporter mentioned that getting approval for the election delayed the process which should have taken place some weeks earlier. He, therefore, announced that the inauguration of the newly elected members of the executive council and members of the Legislative Council will come up on Tuesday 9th March 2021.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020. All Rights Reserved.