Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

NUC wants universities to use five-point grading system

The national secretariat of the Nigerian Universities Commission (NUC) has directed all the universities in the country to implement the five-point scale grading system against the four-point scale adopted for classification of degrees by NUC in 2017.

The Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) ranges under the four-point Grading Scale for Classification of Degrees: 3.5- 4.00 – First Class Honours, 3.0-3.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division), 2.0-2.99 – Second Class Honours (Lower Division) and 1.0-1.99 – Third Class Honours. Thus eliminating the Pass degree.

However, under the five-point scale, the CGPA ranges from 4.50 -5.00 – First class Honours,3.50-4.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division), – Second Class Honours (Lower Division), 1.50-2.39 – Third Class Honours and 1.00 – 1.49- Pass degree.

It should be recalled that in early 2017, the NUC Directors of Academic Planning met to discuss the issue of Course Credit System and CGPA in universities, and it was resolved that the 4.0 scale grading system should be adopted.

There has been no uniformity in the grading systems implemented in various Nigerian universities.

In a letter signed by G.B Kumo, the NUC director of academic planning, dated October 15, which was obtained by this newspaper, the Vice Chancellors have been instructed to effect the policy starting from the 2018/2019 academic session.

“I am directed to inform all Vice Chancellors that all Nigerian universities should revert to the five-point scale hitherto in use with effect from 2018/2019 academic session. Vice Chancellors are further advised to liaise with their Directors of Academic Planning for further clarifications on this matter.”

Giving reasons for the reversal, the official explained that the four-point scale implementation has witnessed a lot of shortcomings in some universities “with some universities observing serious difficulties in getting students to acquire the average class of degree while the scale (four-point) made it easy for students to have First Class degrees.”

Mr Kumo also stated that the commission recently has been making a series of inquiries from international organizations and foreign institutions weighing the options of the earlier four-point scale communicated and the latest directives on a five-point scale.

Related posts

1 Comment

  1. Opara Chidera

    I wanna get updates in my email 👇

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020. All Rights Reserved.