Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

New Ondo poly chairman unveils plan

The new chairman of the governing council of the Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, Banji Alabi, has unveiled his plans for the oldest higher institution in the state.

Following the inaugural meeting of the board on Thursday, he said his priority was to make courses and programmes of the school relevant and problem-focused

“To turn Rufus Giwa Polytechnic to a technology hub, where intensive research and development works are conducted to find useful solutions to problems, the Governing Council, under my leadership, will be exploring several initiatives to digitalize many of our processes,” he said. “This will help streamline our operational and educational activities, block leakage and improve efficiency.”

He also said the Council would work with necessary departments to review the admission policy and processes to align them with best practices across the globe.

He said, “We understand that at the centre of every great organization is the role of the human resources. It is my aspiration to turn Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, into one of the greatest places to work in Ondo State.

Consistent with Governor Akeredolu’s policy, the welfare of our people would be at the forefront of our decisions as we move on. Salaries and allowances would be paid as at when due and in-turn, we expect a corresponding level of work output from members of staff to justify our stand on welfare.

“As we progress, we shall be meeting with key stakeholders ranging from the rectorate to the registry, academic and non-academic Staff, legitimate Unions, Students bodies as well as other relevant key stakeholders to engender buy-in into the renewed vision and vigour that the new Council will bring to bear.

“The remote and immediate cause of the Student’s crisis would be looked into with topmost priority and necessary actions would be taken in due course.”

He expressed gratitude to the state Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu for the appointment of all the governing council members which he said was a product of consultations and further solicited the support of all members of the Governing Council, the management team, the teaching and non-teaching staff, students as well as all other stakeholders to reposition the school.

Other members of the new governing council of the school are Femi Adeyemi, Joshua Adebayo Omosebi, Olaide Adelami, Deolu Ijose, Olufunke Agagu, Andrew Aroloye, Jide Ipinsagba and Bosede Osunmakinwa.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020. All Rights Reserved.