Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

Debate: UNILORIN, Covenant University emerge best in Africa

Amongst the 80 teams picked from universities across 14 English-speaking countries in Africa, the debate teams from the University of Ilorin and Covenant University emerged overall best in the just concluded 12th Pan African Universities Debating Championship, PAUDC, held in Ghana.

The 2019 tournament began on Sunday, 8th of December with participants from more than 35 universities across the continent; from the participant universities, 160 debaters consisting 80 teams excluding the judges and the observers were all drawn from 14 English-speaking countries across the African continent.

At the end of the event, Ademola Adekunnbi, a student of the University of Ilorin, emerged as the Overall Best Speaker and his colleague from Covenant University, Dominic Domini, emerged as the Overall Best Public Speaker, ringing in praises for the respective debate teams and universities.

After the knockout stage, the debate teams from the University of Ilorin and Covenant University, as well as nine other teams from Nigeria, competed with 15 other teams from Ghana, South Africa, Kenya, Uganda and Botswana.

Pan African Universities Debating Championship, PAUDC, is the biggest yearly inter-varsity debate tournament across the African continent.

The breakdown of Awards goes thus:


Nigeria – Ademola Adekumbi; Rwanda – Abiel Intwarane; Tanzania – Eric-Alex Hamisi; South Africa – Atlehang Molefe; Botswana – Motlatsi Mogorosi; Kenya – Macharia Njuguna; Zambia – Given Kapolyo; Zimbabwe – William; Mwaingeni Denva; Togo – Abdul-Latifou Wali; Uganda – Ntambi Michael Blair; Sierra Leon – Alfred M. Sesay; Cameroun – Prince C. F Sani; and in Ghana, Erasmus Segbefia emerged the best.


Southern Africa – Atlehang Ndefe; West Africa – Ademola Adekunbi; East Africa – Mocharia Njuguna; while in Central Africa, Prince CF Sani was crowned the best in the region.


1st: Ademola Adekunbi, NIGERIA;

2nd: Faithfulness Okom, NIGERIA;

3rd: Atlehang Molefe, SOUTH AFRICAN;

4th: Mfumo Bamuza, SOUTH AFRICA;

5th: Anam Azhar, SOUTH AFRICA;

6th: Erasmus Segbefia Mawuli, GHANA;

6th: Michael Ampah Yeboah, GHANA;

6th: Solomon Omani-Mensah, GHANA;

9th: Jeremiah Sekyi; and the 10th position went to Lindokuhle Mabaso from South Africa.


10. Frank Banaman;

9. Fiifi Boabeng Baiden;

8. Ntambi Michael;

7. Kwaku Apraku;

6. Ernestina Siaw;

5. Halimat Ojone Usman;

4. Cecelia Opoku Mensah;

3. Solera Opoku;

2. Giving Capellio; and the overall best went to Dominic Domini from Covenant University, NIGERIA.

Meanwhile, after conquering the 2018 champion in Tanzania last year, the Kwame Nkurumah University of Science and Technology became champion yet again in this year’s edition of the host-and-win campaign; this win for the university marks a successful title defence.

Since its inception in 2008, PAUDC  has adopted the British Parliamentary (PB) style of debating. This style, by structure, is made up of four teams with two teams supporting one motion and the other two opposing it.

Amongst the countries that participated in this year’s tournament were Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Botswana, Togo, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Liberia, Cameron and Sierra Leone.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved.